SkyTeam - Elite & Elite Plus FAQs

Elite & Elite Plus

What are the SkyTeam status levels?

SkyTeam has two status levels:

  • SkyTeam Elite
  • SkyTeam Elite Plus 

How do I become a SkyTeam Elite or Elite Plus member?

In order to recognize each carrier’s most frequent flyers, SkyTeam created tier levels to easily identify and deliver the appropriate benefits to the customers who have earned them. Each individual carrier’s Elite membership program equates to one of the two Elite tiers within SkyTeam.

Is my Elite status with my preferred frequent flyer program transferable to another SkyTeam carrier?

Elite status earned in your preferred frequent flyer program is not transferable to another carrier’s frequent flyer program. However, once Elite status is earned in a member’s frequent flyer program, you then become a SkyTeam Elite frequent flyer which is recognized across all 20 SkyTeam carriers.

What benefits do I enjoy as a SkyTeam Elite passenger?

SkyTeam Elite passengers enjoy benefits such as :

  • Priority reservation wait list (when fares permit).
  • Preferred seating.
  • Priority check-in counters.
  • Priority boarding or at leisure. 
  • Extra baggage allowance

What benefits do I enjoy as a SkyTeam Elite Plus passenger?

The Elite Plus-status level receives the above, as well as:

  • Guaranteed full-fare Y-class reservation on sold-out long-haul flights, at least 24 hours prior to departure.
  • Access to airport lounges worldwide, whatever the class of travel, for members in possession of a boarding pass, accompanied by a guest.
  • Priority baggage handling on arrival, whatever the class of travel
  • Extra baggage allowance

How can I determine how many frequent flyer miles I need to gain SkyTeam Elite status?

For more information about your frequent flyer miles, please contact a service center at your primary frequent flyer program.

Need More Information? Contact Us

We are open to your suggestions, comments or questions about our website. Please note that we are only able to respond to e-mails written in English.

This equation is for testing whether you are a human: 4 + 3 =