SkyTeam Appoints Andrés Conesa, Aeromexico CEO, as Alliance Chairman

Announcement made at 79th IATA AGM in Istanbul

ISTANBUL/AMSTERDAM/MEXICO CITY, 4 June 2023 – SkyTeam, the global airline alliance, has announced Andrés Conesa, Aeromexico’s Chief Executive Officer, as the new chair of its alliance board. The appointment was endorsed today in Istanbul at a meeting of the SkyTeam Alliance Board, which is composed of the CEOs of all member airlines and oversees SkyTeam’s global strategy.

Dr. Conesa has been at the helm of Aeromexico, a founding member of SkyTeam, since 2005. In his role as SkyTeam Chairman, he will work with SkyTeam CEO, Patrick Roux, and senior leaders from SkyTeam’s member airlines to determine strategic priorities as the alliance continues its focus on technology and sustainability to advance the customer experience.

Effective today, Dr. Conesa replaces Walter Cho, CEO and Chairman of Korean Air, who has served as chairman of SkyTeam’s Alliance Board since 2019.  

"As SkyTeam and its members look to the future, Andrés will help guide our strategic focus as we chart a path to greater sustainability and industry-leading technology to strengthen our core promise of delivering a seamless customer experience. We would like to thank Walter for his tenure as SkyTeam CEO, during which he helped steer our alliance through the pandemic towards a future of greater sustainability for air travel.”


Patrick Roux

CEO, SkyTeam


Andrés Conesa

CEO, Aeromexico

I am honoured to take on this new challenge. As a founding airline, Aeromexico is proud of SkyTeam's growth over its 23-year history. Our industry shares a common goal, and we must do our part to adhere and implement best practices to bring the SkyTeam alliance to new heights, always customer-centric, technology-driven, and with a sustainable mindset.

Read more about the new chairman 

About SkyTeam:
SkyTeam is dedicated to powering a seamless customer journey, with all members working together to connect millions of passengers across an extensive global network. The members are Aeroflot (suspended), Aerolíneas Argentinas, Aeromexico, Air Europa, Air France, China Airlines, China Eastern, Czech Airlines, Delta Air Lines, Garuda Indonesia, ITA Airways, Kenya Airways, KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, Korean Air, Middle East Airlines, Saudia, TAROM, Vietnam Airlines, Virgin Atlantic and XiamenAir.